Little Advice Please

A place within the MRA for scooter enthusiasts to exchange information.

Moderators: ItsLookingUp, pehuskey, Tab, mountainmoped, JD, John

Little Advice Please

Postby jojo87 » Wed May 30, 2012 7:19 am

Hey (mostly) Guys....

Im a little new to all this, the Forum and Scooters in General,
im a 25 year old Female,
I work from Home with my own Business so never really had to go many places as my family all Drive anyway, but I thought I'd go ahead and get a Scooter, i've always wanted one but now I really want to go for it...

I've purchased the Jonway Madness 50cc Scooters?
from Motorbike Madness for £595 (£99 Delivery)

I basically want to know the in's and out's on how to get it sorted,
the Bike should be here Friday, and I want to get everything out of the way and paid for so once i've passed the CBT I can get out on it!

* I sent off for my Provisional Licence, waiting for Forms to come back to send my Photo off.
* I've bought the necessary things like a Helmet, Lock, Gloves, Cover, a nice shiny Tax Holder :-)

What I want to know is.. who is the best for Insurance?
I was forwarded to Rampdale by the Dealer, and they quoted me £249 for Third Party Only Insurance, im only using the Bike to get to little places like family members Houses, Shops, post small deliveries from my Business, go to McDonalds for Milkshakes :-) and so on... is £249 a reasonable price?

Also Registering and Taxing, I cant do either of them until I have Insurance right? or is that just the Tax?

I think that's pretty much it, the Scooter has an Alarm on it anyway but obv i've got the Chain/Lock aswell, been abit wary of the Third Party Only Insurance as I live in abit of a rough area and dont want to go to the Shop and have it outside and a Chav walk past and knock it over or scrape it or something like that, because obv i'd have to pay for damages to it as Third Party Only only pays for damage done to other Vehicles right?